Skip to content
Brief Introduction

  The number of personnel exchange ( researchers and students ) for going abroad was 313 person-times in 2008
and more than 400 person-times foreign visitors ( experts, scientists, officers, business managers and visiting scholars from TWAS etc.) from 31 countries and regions came to the institute for visit, collaboration, academic exchange, symposiums and so on. 2 bilateral agreements and memorandums for collaboration were signed. 

About 30 visitors were very important persons in 2008, such as:

I. Prof. Fomin Vasily MSecretary-General, Siberian Branch, Russian Academy of SciencesRussia (08.3.24.)

II. Prof.Ferenc KrauszDirector of Max-Planck Institute of Quantum OpticsGermany, (08.4.1.)

III.  Prof. Hinds Allen, Imperial College London, Member of Royal Society, UK, (08.6.2.)

IV. Prof. Peter G. BruceUniversity of St AndrewsMember of Royal Society, UK,(08.6.25.)

V.  Prof. Thomas Blanton, Chairman of International Center for Diffraction DataUSA, (08.7.25.)

VI. Prof. Tsui/Danniel CheePrinceton University, 1998 Nobel Laureate in Physics,USA, (08.9.11.)

VII. Prof. Yuen-Ron Shen , University of California, Berkeley in the US., Member of the National Academy of Sciences, Foreign Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences,USA,( 08.10.16.)

VIII. Prof. Zenona Rokus RudzikasPresident of Lithuanian Academy of SciencesLithuania, (08.10.30.)

IX.  Prof. Ivar Giaever, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1973 Nobel Laureate in Physics,USA,08.11.10.

X.  Prof.Lars SamuelsonDirector of the Nanometer Structure Consortium, Lund University,
Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, KVA (Physics) and of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences,Sweden, (08.11.10.)

XI.  Prof. Kurt Lambeck, President, Australian Academy of Sciences, Australia, (08.11.14.)