Skip to content

IOP Alumnus Zeng Yuqun Wins Lifetime Achievement Award of NAATBatt

Date:03-03-2020 Print

At the recent annual meeting of the National Alliance for Advanced Technology Batteries (NAATBatt), Mr. Zeng Yuqun, IOP alumnus, founder and Chairman of CATL, was recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contributions to promoting mass production of lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery.

NAATBatt was founded in 2007 on the proposal of former US President Obama and is committed to promoting the development of advanced lithium battery technology. Professor John B. Goodenough and Professor M. Stanley Whittingham, who are both pioneers of lithium battery technology and Nobel laureates in chemistry, won the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013 and 2015 respectively.

Zeng Yuqun received his doctor's degree at the Institute of Physics (IOP) of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) in 2006, with his supervisor being CAS Academician Chen Liquan and his research focusing on lithium-ion battery. He is currently a member of the academic committee of the Key Laboratory for Renewable Energy, IOP, CAS. Since his graduation from IOP, Zeng Yuqun has had in-depth cooperation and frequent exchanges with IOP in the aspects of openness and sharing of innovation platforms, project cooperation and postgraduate education. In the future, the two sides will continue to deepen cooperation and facilitate exchanges of high-level talents. With a goal of supporting China to be an international leader in lithium battery technology, the two sides will work to make full use of each other’s complementary advantages and achieve mutual benefits and common development, so as to contribute to national economic development and national defense construction.